Ekurhuleni mayor awards bursaries to 2017 matric top achievers

Pic by: Source

Article by: Precious Ngubane

A new journey begins for top achievers of the Ekurhuleni's matric class of 2017, after City of Ekurhuleni's Mayor, Mzwandile Masina awarded 220 ambitious learners full bursaries to pursue higher education. Speaking at the annual Academic Excellence Award Ceremony at Emperors Palace today, January 24,Cllr Mzwandile Masina congratulated the matric top achievers and graduates who have made the city proud. "It is precisely because of your victory against all odds that make today's event a special one. We commend all of you for a job well done and encourage you to maintain your spirit of hard work, dedication and commitment," said Masina. The mayor added that it was great that in this lifetime, no academically deserving child would be denied a chance at education because of their family circumstances. Mayor was referring to recent government's announcement of free education.

The mayor, further, noted that his administration has increased the city's bursary fund from R 10 million to R100 million and that they are still committed to their mission of laying the groundwork for the establishment of the city's first University. This coupled with the announcement of free education for all poor students will surely open wide gates of leaning."This will turn the tide against poverty, underdevelopment and low quality of life amongst our people," Mayor Masina asserted.

The city's new bursary intake adds to over one thousand learners that are still perusing their studies through its bursary scheme and over 2000 learners are on the Ekurhuleni experiential training programme. The bursary scheme provides financial assistance to deserving, academically gifted and needy learners to pursue their careers of their choice.The bursary scheme will cover the bursary holders' full Registration fees, examination fees, tuition materials, full amount of prescribed textbooks, accommodation; and other related expenses subject to approval by the city's bursary committee